Another T-Girls perspective "Katie"

21/02/2016 07:40

I get many emails through this Blog and through TVChix mainly T-girls in the closet or T-Girls wanting advice or thanking me for the blog and its very gratifying to see all my eamblings here providing some use.

 

The following is from one of those emails from a T-Girl called Katie who has agreed to let me publish her email :)

 

Hi Davina

 

I spotted the email address on your site and thought I'd drop you a line. 

 

I don't think we're in the minority amongst the TG community it's just that we are the least vocal as many of us still sit firmly in the closet.

 

There's not really much for us to say - no we're not gay (the majority) and no we don't want to be women (the majority).

 

We just want to feel pretty for while as it makes us happy.  

 

We don't do anyone any harm and we're probably reflect society as a whole in that we come from various backgrounds, ages, ethnicity and sexual preferences.

 

We don't all dress up as drag queens and try and pull men as is the common perception and I think that is the view that needs to be changed in society.

 

The problem is that we all keep it a secret from the wider world because of the social and economic ramifications of being found out.

 

For me it's how my family and particularly my kids would be treated by their peers at school.

 

I live in Brighton which is pretty cosmopolitan but there is still ignorance out there.

 

Being firmly in the closet you get to hear the jokes and comments made by 'normal' members of society, People who you'd think would be tolerant and if faced with a crossdresser would be kind and understanding can sometimes be the most bigoted.

 

I think that that is my greatest fear of ever being discovered. 

 

I think younger people are more tolerant of differences than older and when I say younger I mean late teens, early twenties. Young children are innocent but it's the pre-teens that seem to be the most cutting.

 

I think it's the hormones raging through their bodies but they can be really nasty to each other.

My kids are that age which is why I worry.

 

Last year I went to see a personal shopper as Katie.

 

Dressed in drab to go to the store but once in the private changing room  I was able to try on lots of different dresses, skirts and shoes, I even had my foundation matched.

 

It was a thrilling experience and the lady who I saw was only in her twenties.

 

She was very interested to find out more and how she could help other crossdresses in future.

 

We even went for a coffee between appointments.

 

Hopefully little steps like that will help get the message out there that we are really just normal blokes who appreciate their feminine side.

 

Anyway I could waffle on for ages so will stop here as I have work to do.

 

I think I pretty well know your story so will try and give you a bit more detail of mine.
 

Katie